A vintage find from Wales

Anyone that knows me will know I ADORE vintage homeware. For absolutely ages I have been looking for some some sage green vintage tins or enamelware to use to display plants or shabby roses from the garden.

I was inspired to do this this by some pictures I found on Pinterest.

20130624-204638.jpg

I love the green tin and the pink roses.

20130624-204731.jpg

Image courtesy of http://prettypetals.typepad.com/prettypetals/page/2/

Today I was in Newport, West Wales for the last day of my weekend visiting friends.

20130624-204945.jpg

A gorgeous little seaside town with pretty pastel cottages and a wonderful farmers market.

Whilst pottering around I was so happy to stumble across a junk shop, packed to the gunnels with all manner of bits and bobs.

20130624-205126.jpg

With shops like this I try and take my time to browse thoroughly as things are piled so high it can be easy to miss exciting bit and pieces!

Today I was really tempted by a gorgeous yellow china beehive honey pot with a moulded bee on the top and some gorgeous vintage sweet tins.

However, while searching through a big basket of the old tins I made a wonderful discovery.

I found this gorgeous, soft green Tala flour bin with a hinged lid and clasp. As you can see the writing on the front has nearly worn off, but that for me is part of the charm!

I knew it would be perfect as a display vessel for cabbagey roses from the garden. I also thought it might be nice planted up with a mini Christmas tree for the holidays or filled with vintage baubles…..the list of uses is endless.

20130624-205732.jpg

The gentleman who owned the shop was receptive to my offer and knocked some money off the price and now it is proudly sitting by my Belfast sink ready to be filled with roses first thing in the morning. Happy days !

20130624-210402.jpg

Thanks for reading

L xx

Leave a Reply

